Aimee’s Blog #1 – Whale Oil Beef Hooked

To start off, I have a confession to make

– I’m totally not a sewer…I even go out of my way to avoid sewing knitting…

I mean, I can physically do the thing but I’d be lying if I said I enjoyed it or that I was particularly good at it. But, we have been presented with a challenge – and I say, challenge accepted!

I present to you here My Sewing Journey: A Mystery Box Challenge

Our chosen charity at Wellington Knit World is the Wellington Children’s’ Hospital, and I’m pretty sure kids love toys (educated guess, I have zero contact with children). Recently my flat mate got a sewing machine for her birthday (the Brother L14) and one of her first projects was an adorable monster. I tracked this down (http://blog.revoluzzza.com/2009/02/25/tutorial-hopw-to-sew-a-revoluzzzionary-monster-wie-man-ein-revoluzzzionares-monster-naht/) and another easy sewing project, the whale softie (http://www.craftinessisnotoptional.com/2011/03/guest-post-for-i-heart-naptime.html). I’ve chosen some of the colourful fabric from our mystery box, and will need to track down some felted fabric and soft-toy stuffing.

Toys for Aimee blog

Step one is cutting out the pattern and the fabric. I’ve made the monster 125% larger because he looked like he will be a little small to sew and still have all his features, and I think I will add a small sewing allowance around his outside as well 🙂

Wish me luck! I’m not doing the whole “measure twice, cut once” thing you see…

Aimee Pond

Leave a Reply

